We created a family.

Some families are formed  through   “Genetics”  giving us our family of birth.  Sometimes we get to form a family of “choice”….people not necessarily related to us by blood but by beliefs, experiences, ideals   and the things we love in life.   I say those families of choice are CREATED by us; Miss Daisy and I formed a family…our creation.

I want to share a poem I wrote when we were separated ..I was in the hospital and Daisy was in a cage at the ‘doggie doctor’s’….my heart was broken.

FIRST MUSINGS

July  24, 2008

I lay down to sleep

I feel your head begin to settle

against my knee;

Your body snuggles closerand closer

 to my leg

as you relax.

You become lighter and lighter

And we start to float

Together

Gently

Into our dreams

Safe

Together…at home.

(From baby Girl #1 by Flo Clark  07/08)

Sincerely, Gramma

Leave a Reply

